Yet another new intro

hi everyone. i just registered after reading through some of the forums and i think this could be a good place for me. i am 23 years old and graduated with a B.S. in biology last may. for the last year i have been working in a developmental bio/molecular genetics lab in ohio. when i was in college, i was pre-med and planned to go to med school…until my husband and i found out we were pregnant. blink.gif so! biggrin.gif now we have both finished undergrad and our son will be 2 in the fall, and my thoughts return to medical school. research is alright, it’s interesting too, but i have this feeling that if i never atleast try to go to med school, i will regret it for the rest of my life. i just can’t see myself being a lab rat forever, and graduate school does not appeal to me like medicine does. i was a volunteer EMT/firefighter in college and loved it, and i know i could be a great doctor too. i am just a bit intimidated by the whole prospect, especially since i’m a “nontraditional” student with a family to care for and spend time with. as time goes on i am more and more sure i want to embark on the journey; i have started attempting to study to take the MCAT next spring! not very easy with a toddler. laugh.gif well i hope to get to know you all, thanks for having me.
nichole

Nicole, welcome and best of luck! You’ll find many kindred spirits here and useful info.
(It can be done! Please check out “Roll Call” — just search for it — many of the people on that list also have families to bring on this adventure). Take care…
Mary

Welcome aboard, Nichole!
In our family of OPMers you are sure to find other members who can relate and give you great advice and encourgement about pursuing a medical career while still enjoying your family.
Now don't be shy! Stick around, ask questions, and/or give advice (or opinions). Best of luck to you, and again, welcome to the family!

Welcome to OPM Nicole!