Yet another OldPreMed Introduction :)

Hello Everyone,
I am a 33 year old who has always dreamed about pursuing a lifelong career the medical profession. I majored in chemistry, and for various reasons ended up working in pharmaceuticals the family computer business over the past 10 years after college graduation. I have found my current computer career unfullfilling, and would like to pursue my dream of becoming a medical doctor as I had originally intended. I know that the chances of obtaining that goal are not 100%, so I intend to also take prereqs towards nursing school.
I have volunteered at the local hospital in Orlando FL for the past 8 months, and have just recently started volunteering in the ER. I have really enjoyed working with the nurses in neurology and having some patient contact (though limited to helping them out as a volunteer), watching them and the doctors work.
I know that medicine is a life-long career, and I am ready to commit towards going back to school, preparing for the MCAT, and applying to med schools. It’s all very intimidating as a 33 year old, 10 years out of college, but the desire is still tehre I know I have the aptitude,the drive, and energy to do it. I just hope that my age and my previous career path won’t hurt my chances at pursuing my dream.
I have lots of questions, like what kinds of courses I should take to prepare for the MCAT. I took the MCAT 10 years ago, and received an average to slightly below-average score, but I could have done a lot better if I had been prepared and had had courses such as anatomy. My GPA was around 3.5 and strong with lots of science, but for personal reasons my last semester of college wasn’t stellar. I’m not sure if something like that can be “repaired” by excelling at post-graduate courses or not.
I am applying to UCF Orlando to take courses such as anatomy and others to prepare for nursing school and to also help me brush up on subjects to do better on the MCAT.