ZERO Motivation for Gen Chem II

Hey, gang–I know I’m always Ms Positive, but I just have to say it… I officially have ZERO interest in GenChem II.

I’m jamming into a short summer session, and I can only attend about half of the classes (taking it over an extended lunch break, but my boss is only reasonable to a point–so I have to leave halfway through.) So the idea was that I would spend my evenings teaching myself the material that I missed. I’m a good student with great reading comp skills, so I figured this would be easy.

Having said that, I can feel myself falling behind. It’s not a priority. We’ve had several tragedies around us with friends and family, and summers are busy anyway for us… there’s so much going on, and I keep finding reasons NOT to crack the books at night.

Don’t get me wrong–I’m doing alright grade wise. I made an A on the first exam, and I’ve made A’s on all my labs. But I feel like I’m on borrowed time, and my lack of work WILL catch up with me if I’m not careful! (Action = Consequence)

The biggest problem, I guess, is that the material just doesn’t interest me. In biology, I was continually fascinated by the material. On a daily basis, I would come home and force my husband to listen to the new thing I just learned… but not so much with chemistry. Gen Chem II, thus far, feels like a bunch of plug-and-chug calculations and basic math. It is what it is… (Ok, increasing the temperature makes the reaction go faster. Next?)

It’s that kind of thing…Frankly, I just think it’s kind of boring. I knew that it would be risky to take this over the summer, but I really wanted to be able to move on to Organic Chem in the normal Fall/Spring sequence (WAY more class times to choose from, etc.)…so this is my bed, and I must get comfy in it. Just wanted to vent and see if anyone can relate.

This is my 3rd class into pre-reqs, and I’m disinterested. Should I be worried?