1st Post--wondering if I'm crazy?

Hi there! I just stumbled across this site today, and first of all–I think you are all amazing. Truly, superheroes in your own right. So many times, we get caught up in the business of life–bills to pay, kids to raise, etc. and we tell ourselves that the long lost dream in the back of our mind just has to stay put… But you guys? You’re taking the dream off the shelf and actually doing something about it. HUGE kudos.

Now, for my question. I am a 33 year old wife, mother of a 3 yr old daughter. I currently live in Nashville, TN. I am a manager for a large hospital company–your basic corporate/middle management job. It pays the bills, but I have no passion for the work I do. I had an elite academic scholarship (full ride) for a private university… graduated with honors (gpa 3.8) with a B.A. in Psychology. But that was in 1998. While in school, I took one semester of Chemistry, 2 semesters of Biology, 1 semester of comparative anatomy, and 1 semester of calculus. (A’s in every subject except Chemistry–my first B ever… typical Type A Overachiever.

I always had a knack for learning subject matter, and I aced standarized tests… Being a student was something I was just wired for, I think. There was always a part of me that wanted to be a doctor, even when I was little. But my fear of failure and my immaturity at 18 caused me to take an easier road.

That being said, it’s haunted me for a long time. In my job, I interact with physicians, practice managers, and hospitals every day (the business side), and I have a huge amount of regret for not choosing the profession. To help people… to have your work make a difference and really mean something… to contribute to people’s quality of life… what a privilege!

Random internet search brings me to all of you… and you have shown me that anything is possible.