2nd try: should I do med? How did YOU know you wanted to?

Hey guys,

Okay I’m trying to delete my last post as it was way too long, and basically, here’s my situation: I graduated from an Ivy some years ago after doing stunningly average (low 3’s GPA, dropping courses like hot cakes, non science major), swearing off med, and am considering post bac. Do you relate to any of these-- like, how important a factor is hating chem and physics?

Also, how did you decide medicine was for you? Was there a tipping point, a rationale, or simply an intuitive knowing?

WHY MED: positives/upsides of the journey:

–I love bio and neuroscience

–I’ve often been told I have a gift for healing

–I like working with people and have a great ‘bedside manner’

–It’s intellectually challenging (I’ve also considered Ph.D in psych or MSW but I love the bio of med)

–The bottom line, unlike business, is not profit, but healing (or should be, ha)

–Job security

–Freedom to practice anywhere, including underserved communities or even in areas of rural poverty (eg, DWB trips abroad)

WHY NOT MED: negatives/downsides of the journey:

–Took Orgo in undergrad, hated most of it and dropped it twice

–Dislike physics and math

–Don’t like lab in general-- hate swishing around chemicals, seems pointless, measuring stuff, being in a cold lab

–Med school students are kind of competitive and neurotic (I speak for myself too, ha!)-- although, so are students in many ‘overachieving’ areas of life: law school, b school, etc.

–Soo much time

–My work ethic really needs to shape up if I’m going to be successful at this. Any tips on time management?

Thank you thank you!

Honestly, if you have doubts more than likely not for you. The only doubts I have have are in myself. Others chime in please.

I know where you’re coming from with a dislike of certain pre-reqs. When I considered pre-med as an undergrad, calculus and orgo took care of that ambition in a hurry.