A Question of Balance

Hello All,

Before I get to my question, I have to say thanks so much to everyone who makes this forum the supportive and inspiring community that it is. Last fall, when I was wondering whether med school was even a remotely realistic goal as an older student, I stumbled onto this site and found that last bit of encouragement I needed to begin the journey.

That said, I’d like to conduct a very informal survey regarding work/school/home balance during the prereq years. I know that many of you are juggling work, school, volunteering and shadowing while still managing to do things like laundry and dishes and raising children. I’m wondering: how exactly? Since January, I’ve been working 32 hours a week while taking two classes a quarter in the evenings. It’s been busy, but doable while still maintaining A’s. However, I’m looking into volunteering/shadowing now and have no idea where those hours are going to come from in my schedule. Did many of you who are now in med school find that you needed to cut back on work in the year(s) leading up to applying? What about those of you who are still in the prereq phase? Are most of us working close to full-time?

I may or may not be freaking out. And the freaking out may or may not be related to the entire pot of coffee I’ve consumed in the past three hours.

Just looking for some feedback.

Thanks so much!

-CA

Umm…the pot of coffee would certainly have ME freaking out. That said, I work 36 hours a week, have 4 kids (10,11 1/2, 13, 15), and have been taking 1 class per quarter in addition.