Active Duty Military Officer Looking to Attend Med School

I recently completed the Combat Systems officer training through the Air Force, earning my wings as a Navigator on B-52 bombers. I love the military, but do not want to spend my entire career serving as a navigator. Would like to know what steps I can be taking in order to make myself a more marketable candidate to attend medical school. Also any information on the process of going to med school while still serving an active duty commitment would be really helpful. I’ve been thrashing round in the blind for a few months now taking random steps I felt would lead me in the ultimate direction of becoming a military doctor. Any advice to point me in the right direction would be great.

Another road bump I don’t quite know how to deal with is my gpa. I graduated with a 3.2 in biochemical engineering. I’ve contemplated receiving a masters online in a technical field, to kind of negate that gpa and also make new contacts in academia in order to secure really strong recommendations. Would it just be better to focus on volunteering/shadowing and maybe taking some of the pre-req courses that I didn’t excel in over again. Thanks again for any input!

Hey Air Force!

Welcome to OPM! I’m battling a much worse GPA, but I’m on the path to med school regardless.

This is definitely possible for you, and you will learn a lot about the process through folks here on OPM. I suggest going to the past conferences section of the forums and going through the presentations. Lots of great info.

Best wishes in the B-52s, and stay in touch through PM if you’d like

Layne

Your GPA is not a significant detriment as long as you complete some recent course work showing academic strength and do well on the MCAT (the ultimate equalizer, it is your friend).

Good luck!!