Another newbie

Hi All!

I’m very fortunate to have found this site in the beginning of my quest to becoming a doctor. I’m a somewhat recent college graduate who has been working in the private sector for roughly six months. For years I’ve doubted my abilities to become a doctor. While studying business at UMich I was turned off by the orgo horror stories, as well as turned on by my success in business and social science courses. I spent the past six months blindly working my way up the corporate ladder. Throughout my professional career I have made time and effort to do some careful soul searching and self-reflection. It was approximately three months ago that I came to the conclusion that I was simply unsatisfied with my career choice and needed to once and for all attempt the premed route. My path took many years and was very unorthodox. During this time I’ve had to encounter my fears and doubts and overcome them with the subdued and dormant passion that I’ve always had for becoming a doctor. The arduous path of completing premed requirements and Medical School stimulate my senses as much as strenuous day to day activities of being a doctor.

To me a career is not simply a job but rather a life style choice. The life style I wish to lead is one that is a constant intellectual and emotional challenge. I want to come home and feel as though I have sacrificed all that I could in the process of contributing to the wellness of an individual, dare I say society? (medical research?)

Now that the corny introduction is concluded (rather difficult to put passion on paper) I’d like to ask for your advice. I am continuing to work for a company that allows me much leeway with scheduling. Because of this I am now debating on remaining with the company and finishing my premed requirements without debt but at a slower pace or quitting the job all together and entering one of the many accelerated Post-baccalaureate programs. All thoughts, advice and personal stories are welcome.