Apply now or wait a year? Yr wise advice needed.

Hello, good people of OPM. I would appreciate your opinion on what I should do regarding application timing.

Here are the facts.

1. I am 38. I graduated in 1994, ~3.2 undergrad at a top university, Literature degree. I took a number of science classes but was a mediocre student. Science grades include one C (or maybe C-).

2. I had a relatively successful career in an unrelated field until I quit to return to school in 2010.

3. As an undergrad, I worked as a neurology lab tech and also did independent biology research.

4. Currently I am a post-bacc with a 3.97 science GPA. I have completed:

Intro bio & Lab

Gen chem & Lab

Physics I & Lab

Organic Chem I & Lab

Currently I am taking:

Organic 2 (no lab)

Physics 2 & Lab

5. I am volunteering on a clinical research project on pain management and also volunteer for a hospital, Red Cross, school post-bacc society.

6. I plan on studying for the MCAT full-time for about 7 to 8 weeks, from end of classes in May to test date in mid-July.

7. I have/will have many strong recommendation letters and evaluations and a strong committee letter.

My questions:

A. It appears that courses older than 10 years are not usable. Do the grades count for anything except to build a narrative?

B. Do my undergrad activities count for anything or is it assumed I’ve forgotten all bench research knowledge?

C. The Real Question: Do I go ahead with #6 and take the MCAT and apply, or do I wait another year so that I can take Orgo 2 Lab, Calc, Stats, Biochem, and Genetics? I feel that these classes would help my understanding on the MCAT.

• If I apply now and am accepted, I am 39 when I matriculate. If I wait, I will be 40. Some of you may understand that I have some strong but perhaps unreasonable feelings about applying as soon as possible.