Applying to medical school as a former chiropractor

Hi, all.

I thought the general theme of this site would really be right for posing my question. My route to potential entry to medical school is most certainly “nontraditional.” To be frank, I have been pretty lost with regard to where I am and what my prospects would be, and it’s become pretty depressing. I am certain, however, that I’m not the only person who gets to wondering whether or not (s)he’s “missed their chance” in life.

I graduated from college in 1993 with a B.S. in Biology, ending up with a 3.15 GPA. I know, nothing to write home about. I had applied to medical schools afterward, and decided after some time to “cut my losses” and look for alternate means of being of help to people.

In 1999, I matriculated at Life University College of Chiropractic, and finished the curriculum in 2003, with a 3.88 GPA. I obtained licenses in four states, and practiced for some time – deciding to leave practice at the end of 2008. My reason for leaving was mainly the fact that I felt like a “bastard stepchild”/“used car salesperson” of the health care industry, and I had an increasingly difficult time practicing with what I could consider “ethics.” The cognitive dissonance involved in chiropractic practice was really too much for me.

In the time since, I have taken to teaching. I have been teaching in local career colleges for students getting involved in the health professions. Subjects such as anatomy & physiology, pathophysiology, myology & kinesiology, and other such areas.

I really want to apply to medical school again, and I am certain that there will be additional steps involved (I’ve spoken to one or two of the local schools about this, so I have a fairly good idea about it), but I have a couple of questions that I hope anyone else here with, perhaps, experience similar to mine might be able to help me with…