Attempting to become OLD premed. Realistic?

Opinions Please! I am currently 49 years old (yes, 49) and want to go back to school to follow my dream. I graduated with a BSN in 1990, had 5 years ICU experience and then went to CRNA school. Completed CRNA residency in 1997, obtained a Master of Health Science and have been working independently in anesthesia since. I have always regretted not going to med school and now am thinking SERIOUSLY about doing so. I do have undergrad science courses but they are mostly pre-nursing courses (nursing bio, chem, etc.) and I don’t think they will be accepted at med schools. My MHS science courses are graduate courses revolving around nurse anesthesia. Even though they were graduate level physiology, chemistry, and pharmacology courses, they weren’t graduate “BIO” courses, etc.

Does anyone out there know if some of these courses will be acceptable to med schools? I am thinking not, but it does seem redundant to have to take BIO I, Chem I, etc.

Also, am I CRAZY to think of starting the med school route at my age? I plan to take MCAT spring 2015 for acceptance into fall 2016. If everything works out, then I will be applying for residency as a 56 year old!

Thanks everybody, and by the way, this is a great forum!

Dave

Did someone say old??? Some Schools will accept old credits ( mine are from 1979, 1980, and 1995)…You have to go to each schools admissions page and scour the requirements. BTW - I will be applying for residencies at the age of (GASP!)58!!!

Thanks for the reply VickiV… I am having a lot of FUD about what I am planning to do. Giving up a lot in personal life to get where I want to go. I have read, read, read about what is ahead of me, and I am determined to get there. I feel that time is of the essence and do not want to waste time taking courses that I don’t have to.