Bombed exam-Test anxiety or what???

Well, I was really doing very well in Physics. Getting a solid A and knowing what I was doing. Today was exam II and it covered a lot of material but I did not feel overwhelmed by it. I felt not overly confident but prepared enough to do decently. Well, despite knowing the concepts and understanding how to apply them, I froze. I completely went blank on quite a few things. I can do collision problems in my sleep and I found myself staring at a collision problem like it was in Greek. It was like I had completely psyched myself out. This compounded throughout the exam and I found myself out of time and then frantically just guessing problems I had no time to even work out partially. So, total bomb!

I don’t know what happened at all but I bet I’ll be lucky to get a C and that alone is a spirit killer. I am a solid A student. Lowest grade I’ve gotten on anything in the last two 1/2 years since going back to school is a B+ on a Chem II exam. The prof curves and considerinng I had an A thus far I may just be able to pull off an A if I kill the rest of the assignments, quizzes and the last exam, but darn it!!! I have never totally gone blank to the extent I did today and I was just ready to puke went I left the exam. In typical fashion, I remembered most of the problems I got stuck on and sure enough when I left the exam I was able to work them out just fine.(I can’t leave anything alone) What the heck happened? Severe test anxiety? It was just completely out of character for me! This exam score is just not going to be anywhere near reflective of my knowledge of the material or of my work thus far, but what can I do? Nada. It really blows that this one exam might hurt my grade especially knowing that it was a total fluke. Ugh. Move on, I guess…