Can i do this without destroying my family?

I have been chasing this dream for about 8 months now, another year of pre-reqs to go. 34, happily married, 3 kids (8, 2, and 10 mos.).

I watched an amazing but terrifying documentary last night called “Doctors’ Diaries” (http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/body/doctor s-diaries.html). It follows 7 harvard med students through school and checks in on them periodically over the course of like 30 years. They all say the experience was rewarding but none of them seem to be able to stay in a marriage and they all seem to be tied to their work.

Has anybody here been able to manage the rigors of med school and residency and managed to stay married? How has it affected your relationship with your kids?

Is it possible to be a good doctor 40 hours a week? I believe I will love being a doctor and I will be very good, but I don’t want it to consume me. I have a wonderful family that I love dearly and I don’t want to become a stranger to them. Any advice/encouragement?

Stay the course and stay off of SDN.

You can work as much or as little as you want. You need to strike a balance you can live with and so can your family while still earning a decent wage. My mentor became an attending June 2011 in Internal Medicine. He averaged 28.6 hours for the year. He brought home a very nice salary. He’s had more time with his kids and wife than he’s ever had. He took his wife on a Carribean vacation for 2 weeks and the entire family to include college-aged daughter and her worthless boyfriend to Disney World for another week. How? For one week every month he would drive to another state, work there, and then come home after the week was over.