Career Transition to Pre-Med

Hi everyone,

I recently decided to make a change in my life and pursue a life in medicine. To make a long story short, I’ve had a three life altering experiences in the past five years, all of which both helped me realize that my current path is not the right one for me and that I want to practice medicine.

To be quite honest, I’m just starting out on the process, and I’ve been slightly overwhelmed with all of the information out there. I’ve been wading through a bunch of the threads on this forum trying to find advice that may help me along the way, and I was hoping to present my situation for some friendly suggestions to all of the seasoned old pre-med students

A little background: I have B.S. in Mathematics and Statistics and a B.A. in Economics from a top public university, where I graduated with a 3.75 gpa and university honors with distinction. I’m also currently all but dissertation at a top ten economics Ph.D. program.

I’m not sure whether I should apply for a post-bac program or go at it on my own, taking science classes at the university where I’m currently a Ph.D. student. I just want to put myself in the best position as possible to get into med school, and I would really appreciate any advice I can get. Would you be willing to share some of the pros and cons of a post-bac program versus the pros and cons of going at it on my own? If I go at it on my own, should I just start with taking into chemistry and biology classes? Also, do you know of a place that lists the post bac programs available in the United States?

Thank you in advance for any and all kind responses!

Ken

P.S. I apologize if people feel there already exist threads on some of my questions. I wasn’t able to find all of my answers before posting this thread. Thanks.

I’m extremely new to all of this too, but I do have a website for you with all of the US Post Bac programs!

http://services.aamc.org/postbac/