Caribbean medical schools

I got accepted into a Caribbean Medical school at age 47 any advise. Having problems Financing the school do anybody have any advice.

Which school did you get accepted to? Did you contact the financial ā€˜aidā€™ office? Some schools have private lenders that have relationships with schools to provide funding. Others are cheap enough that students pay with excess funds from US based MBA programs with Davenport, Walden, etc. Private message me and Iā€™ll give you some more information.

I got accepted at IAU in St Lucia and I am waiting to hear from Ross University. If you can help email me at herringgartha@yahoo.com

I got accepted at IAU in St lucia and I am waiting to here from Ross University. If You can help I am a veteran with a familiy looking for help please email me at herringgartha@yahoo.com

Thank you , If you can help please contact me at herringgartha@yahoo.com

Great if you can help me my email is herringgartha@yahoo.com

My advice is not to go to a Caribbean medical school. I believe matching will be problematic in the future and it is a financial gamble. Consider DO or another medical profession.

1 Like

I found this site that has some funding options, but none of them are very good in my opinion.

http://www.islandmedicalschools.com/financing-mediā€¦

I think your best bet is to earn acceptance to Ross (if youā€™re set on the Caribbean). Ross, St George, and AUC are apparently eligible for federal loans.

To be blunt, you could not pay me to go to a caribbean medical school.

From what research Iā€™ve done, they have insanely high attrition rates, MS3-4 clinical rotations can be a debacle, and their match rates are less than impressive. With the US MD & DO residency programs merging, matching as an international student may very well only get harder.

1 Like

I have a friend who went to AUC, is now a 3rd year resi in RI and will be done with her fellowship 2 years after residency ends.