Class load question

I am hoping there are other students who can relate to this…

And please tell me if I am in the wrong place with this question.

This year I will take physics 1 and 2 and organic chemistry 1 and 2. I will also try to fit in genetics and maybe biochem since I am a post-bacc student and it is expected to take more than the general prereqs (I finished cellbio, physiology and anatomy). I am planning on taking the MCAT’s next Spring and applying to schools in the 2014 cycle. Or sooner, maybe, but at age 41 I think I’ve officially declared that I am not in a rush.

my question:

Is orgo, physics and genetics a common class load for one semester? ie: Is it too heavy and therefore too risky? Or worth the risk to prove I can handle it? I’m a strong student but I’ve never had 3 hard 200 level science classes together. (btw I may put orgo lab in the summer). One thought is if I did just take physics and orgo it would give me a chance to volunteer or work in a lab.

Thanks for any insight.

I think it’s doable–will you also be working or involved in anything else that takes your time? I did Orgo I/II and Physics I/II together (with both labs) across two semesters, and I took the MCAT at the end of the 2nd semester. But I also had a full time job and a family…so the bad news is that I didn’t leave myself as much time to do MCAT prep as I should have.

If you aren’t working or doing anything else, and you are confident in your abilities, it’s manageable. It’s definitely been done by others. I’m not saying you’ll be whistling a happy tune every day, though! Get ready for the challenge! Just really sit back and evaluate your schedule and your study/discipline habits. Don’t underestimate the MCAT…it will sneak up on you!

Good luck!

Any bio class that’s not directly a pre-req will still help you on MCATs, if nothing else because you can get a lot of off-the-wall discretes.