Community College prereqs?

I graduated from the University of Michigan '08 with a BA and a 3.1 GPA. I lived for four years in China afterward and learned Mandarin. The life I was thinking of leading has now changed to, obviously, a different one as a MD.

I wanted to know if I took all med school prereqs (I got a 5 in AP Bio in High School, does that help?) at a community college, like Nassau Community, and did well (like 3.5 GPA or better) if that would still enable me to go to a med school in the U.S.? Or would you recommend a post bacc premed like Columbia?

Any help would be MUCH appreciated!

Postbaccs would be ideal and if you have the money I would recommend that route.

The CC route is not ideal but the answer is yes, you will still be able to go the a US med school. You will be limited in the schools you can apply to because some don’t bother with CC credits but if you do well, get a decent MCAT, and interview well, you should be able to get a US seat. It is simple to get into med school but not easy.

Thanks for the info Croooz. Do you think the 3.1 GPA as an undergrad will be a problem to get into a postbacc program?

I’ve read a bit about this since I’m considering taking a few pre-reqs at a local CC. My understanding is that the reputation of the CC system varies a bit from state to state; it seems as though most medical schools I’ve checked do consider CC courses (“officially” at least). To me, it makes sense - particularly financial sense - to take a couple of CC courses and supplement them with some upper-level coursework at a four year university. This is my plan, at least.

• mdkauf Said:
Thanks for the info Croooz. Do you think the 3.1 GPA as an undergrad will be a problem to get into a postbacc program?