Concerns about getting into Medical School

I have been reading through a number of posts and am starting to be quite concerned about my possibilities of getting into Medical School, and am hoping someone out there can give me some advice on ways which I could “redeem” myself. I entered college immediately after finishing high school and did not do very well in my studies mostly because I was not ready for college and I did not know what I wanted to do at that point in my life, I was only 18 years of age. I was not the most responsible person then. After graduating with a b.a. in anthropology, I got married and ended up working in the computer industry. I worked in the industry for about 5 years and was not very happy there, and was blessed with getting laid off. upon leaving the industry, I decided to go through an intensive program to find out more about me and what would be the ideal work environment and career and I have been told I would be an excellent ER doctor. I’ve taken the last 2 years to think about this and I am very excited about moving forward with my plans. I am very motivated, intelligent and willing to work very hard towards my goal of becoming an ER doctor but I am concerned as to how much my past undergraduate gpa will hurt my entrance into medical school. I should also let you know that it has been some time since I have been in a classroom, I do intend on enrolling in a pre-med certificate program (2 year program) to fulfill my requirements. I am wondering if between volunteering and earning a near perfect gpa in a pre-med program enough to redeem myself from a not so great undergraduate experience.
Sandra

Hi there Sandra,
Welcome to the group! I hope you will post about your experiences and let us know how you are doing.