Delurking

Rich told me to delurk during yesterday’s OPM talks. So I’m posting.

Hello, everyone. I’m glad to have met other OPMers over the weekend, and I certainly appreciate the insights and advice of all the conference speakers and representatives in the vendor hall.

My background is in electrical engineering, and I’ve been working in Silicon Valley since 1999. Two weeks ago I had three stents put in my heart. A week ago I finally followed through on what I’ve been wanting to do for a long time and quit my job. It was my moment of enlightenment as described by Marcia in her talk.

This summer I’m signed up for Ochem 1 + lab in UC Berkeley’s postbacc program. (I know, I know.) GenChem 1 and 2 are already done; Ochem 2, bio, and physics remain for the certificate. I still have to figure out what I want to do for extracurriculars, but this weekend’s conference has given me lots of good ideas.

Again, thanks to everyone who put effort into making this conference happen. I’m very glad to have attended and to have especially met my table mates, Nathan and Emily.

Oh, and by the way I’m 46.

Nicely done OldEE

About 2 weeks before this year’s OPM conference, I asked the NAAHP to send me to an adviser. My adviser told me about the OPM that was happening in less than two weeks. So I went to the web site and registered not having a lick of knowledge of what would happen and who these people were. But I am so grateful that I was able to attend. There I met OldEE and Emily. OldEE and I hit it off right away. We just enjoyed talking about engineering things.

In addition, I was able to resolve some major confusion I had about whether to be an MD or DO. There are a couple of decent MD schools in my area and with family in tow (wife and 2 late teens), I figured that was my only choice. But for some reason, once I met Dr. Anita Showalter, everything seemed to clear up. I knew the type of Doctor I wanted to be…a DO. Again, thank you Dr. Showalter for you help.