Discouraged, but can't not try!

My degree is a BS in psychology and I am almost done… At the age of 26 . I went to a very well known school out of state for a year and a half and did well and then it slowly turned horrible due to health issues. My lack of knowledge about completing incomplete classes ended with poor grades. I started over and switched to psychology at a less prestigious university where I maintain a 3.4 GPA (without most of my past courses bc they did not transfer). I have retaken and dropped multiple classes due to chronic health issues (I get less than 2% of norm amount of REM, bouts of pre-cancerous growths aka surgery, among other issues).

To sum up my question I have one class to finish my BS (calculus). I just now am healthy enough to function relatively normally and I am ready to finish my pre-req.s. I have a ton of clinical experience, volunteering, leadership, research, etc but academically math and chemistry are difficult for me. Should I apply to a specialty post-back program? Should I continue at my low level state university or transfer to a more expensive specialty pre-med program?

Should I explain my health problems in my personal statement or interview… If I ever get there? Also should I continue to work in the medical field as a technician or maybe just focus on school? Lastly, I have an opportunity to train as a surgical assist for free. Is it a beneficial enough experience to spend a year and half doing it while in school, or should I stop take out loans and focus on school solely?

I apologize for the length and I so so sooo appreciate your help.

Akrad –

I’d say to concentrate on school and NOT expend the additional effort on the surgical assistant program.