Failed attempt at post bacc. What to do next? Help!

Hi Everyone,

So I haven’t seen stories of people with a similar background as mine. I graduated from college in 2011 with a Biology degree (Good ECs: research, leadership, volunteer, shadowing, tutoring, TA and jobs). Most of my ECs I was part of for over 2-3 years. I graduated from college with a cGPA - 3.0 and sGPA - 2.8. (good upward trend with upper level science classes). Immediately after graduation, I started a post-bacc program ( a 1 year linkage program) where students take graduate school and medical school classes. Unfortunately, this year was just a disaster for me and I didn’t make the contract. And I don’t know what to do at this point.

Are there people out there who have had similar experiences and if there are can you please share how you overcame it? The director of the program recommended me to continue and get the masters degree but I didn’t like that option for various reasons.

Any advice out there?? I was hopefully thinking about returning to my undergraduate institution, take a serious of more upper level science classes for the coming academic year (Fall 2012-Spring 2013).

My first mcat score (which I took without good preparation) - 6V, 6P and 9B.

Second attempt (better preparation while in the post-bacc program) - and waiting for the score.

Please help!!

serveasanmd -

It’s difficult…1 year post-bacc programs are often very intense which can work against you as far as grades. You don’t say why you don’t want to follow the advice of finishing the masters program, but that seems to me to be pretty good advice. Further undergraduate courses does not seem as strong as finishing a masters degree (with good performance in the second year of it).

The poor first MCAT is unfortunate, but hopefully the second one will come back sizeably better.