Fedaykin's Intro Post

Hey all. I found this site when someone recommended it to me, and it looks like I might’ve finally found the informal resource I’ve been looking for- a sounding board as I try to figure out how the heck to get into med school. So I thought I’d post an introduction.

My undergraduate years kinda sucked. I had some issues (death of a friend, coming out, etc) that distracted from academics, nevermind the fact that it took me two schools, five majors, and six academic advisors to find where I belonged. Add in a dose of not being mature enough to handle college from ages 18-22, and the result isn’t particularly pretty: I graduated with a 2.92 overall GPA, which is reduced to a 2.70 when you incorporate the GPA from the school I started my undergrad work at. Oh, and for extra fun, I don’t have my prerequisites done. Whoopee.

Went out, got a job in education, hated it. Went back to graduate school, got into a traditional academic MS program (Biomedical Science). I’m approaching halfway through that. Current GPA is a 3.58, when I graduate it’ll likely be around a 3.8 to 3.9. Or as I like to call it, the accurate reflection of my intelligence and abilities. Aside: I don’t get what this crap I always hear about “grade inflation” in graduate school is. My classes are way harder than my undergrad classes were. I’m just working a hell of a lot harder and managing my responsibilities better.

So the current plan looks something like this:

Crappy GPA/Unfinished Pre-reqs => ??? => US-based Allopathic Program

With a whole lotta unknowns in the middle.

I have some prerequisites, so most post-bac programs I’ve contacted say they can’t help me. I don’t have all my pre-reqs, so special Master’s programs say they can’t help me.