Feel depressed - need advice

Alright, I am in a very unusual situation. I have a PhD in Biochemistry earned in Europe and a MBA earned in USA. I am now 35 and due to various circumstances (just got a permanent resident card, job situation changing etc…) I have been thinking to go to Med School (as I have been a faculty in a Med School for the past 5 years as a researcher, with top notch scientific publications might I had).

It turns out that I have to go through the pre-req because they must be obtained in a US accredited institution. I don’t question the rule. It is just that I feel so down that all the training I have accumulated is useless when it comes to Med School application.

With two kids, I have considered keeping my part-time job (teaching Biology in a community college) while trying to get my pre-req there (that means that I will also ditch my full time faculty position). Of course community college may be a problem but I have to think about paying for my kids education more than for my own. To add to the debate over community college versus 4 yr college, I am thinking about going to community college, hoping that my previous education somehow will be taken into account. I also hope of scoring well on the MCAT (as many of the topics tested are already familiar).

So why changing career paths right now: I am unhappy with what I do right now (although teaching is fun, research is not so fun anymore). Besides I started in Med School back in Europe and decided that Medical Biochem was more interesting. I have since regretted that every day!

I would love to hear from various forum readers who would have comment/advice on my situation.

Thank you all.

Have you obtained this information from a school itself or just from reading things? I am a little confused…