Feeling overwhelmed from studying for MCAT, working and taking classes

Hi, everyone,

I am thrilled to find this wonderful site. I just turned 38, and planning to get into medical school at age of 39. As time goes on, I am getting more anxious and fearful about the age issue. Of course, I am aiming for the best schools like UCLA, USC etc, and would like to know if my dream is completely unrealistic? Are elite schools more prejudice against older applicants? Especially someone approaching 40? The last 12 years, I have been workimg asa registered nurse.

Currently, I am studying for MCAT, my testing date is 6/16/11. I’m also working and taking classes. I am constantly feeling overwhelmed, discouraged and exhausted.

Please help!

Shan

Same here.

The kids, classes, MCAT, near full-time job. I have a hard time breathing sometimes and it puts quite a strain on my relationship with my wife. Not easy, but really, there is not much of a choice.

Good luck. And sure, your dream is realistic (but why does it matter to go to a top school?)

Shan -

ALthough I chose to go to a D.O. school, I had a good response from MD school applications as well. I found that my nursing background was a help in my applications, and that their concern was generally much more about the applicants academic qualifications (which I had) - not really the age (and see, I’ve got you beat by a LONG shot )

It’s important not to talk yourself down internally. You should go into the application and interview process keeping in mind how much you bring to the table - experienced clinical decision making, critical thinking, maturity, work ethic. Have good preparation and do that, and schools should be able to see that they would be lucky to have you. In my opinion, (and experience) feeling apologetic for your age can sap your confidence. I’m grateful that my pre-med advisors got me past that prior to my interviews.

The ideal applicant is NOT the 20’something just out of school.

Kate