Financial Aid Question

Okay so I am having a little fear over the Financial Aid topic. So fay I have been to three interviews that have discussed it and two have been really low-ball on the rent numbers, at least as far as I can tell.

I really love DMU but they are quoting a rent on the COA at 200 dollars less than anything I can find. And that is looking at one bedrooms all over Des Moines. For the sake of argument here how can one person live off of those numbers and if you show them that rent is more can you borrow more.

I remember Des Moines rents being pretty reasonable as long as you stay out of West Des Moines (the whole Valley Ridge area), but I was a poor college student at the time…and I never minded having roommates. There were always quite a few houses over by my campus (Drake) that people would rent out for dirt cheap–but I wouldn’t consider those houses these days. It’s a WEE bit different now that I’m married and have kids.

I’ve always understood that the med school can opt to increase your COA if given enough good reason to do so. (Extenuating factors like childcare, needing a larger living space due to family, etc. that make your COA simply higher than your average med student’s.) I thought it was kind of a case by case deal, and the med school had the ultimate final answer.

However, given that I haven’t actually played this game yet… I’m hoping someone will chime in and confirm that! I need to learn all I can about this process, so I’m glad you asked, Bailey!

I wouldn’t say that rents are crazy, but even close to DMU campus they are wanting 100 to 150 over the COA level.

Are you goingto apply to DMU? Because you really should, it is pretty awesome.