First Day Shadowing

I just returned home after only 4 hours of shadowing a cardiologist who specializes in heart failure.

I am in complete euphoria. I also feel like my brain is mush. I don’t come from a medical background, I only know what I learned from my exposure while my mom was hospitalized.

Is it completely normal to feel mentally slow and unable to process everything at first? Obviously I am just beginning this journey so I don’t have extensive knowledge on medical terminology and conditions. As I think back on the patients that the Dr saw today I have a hard time remembering which conditions went with which patients and what the recommended treatment ended up being. I must need to take better notes. I think that my initial focus was understanding what was wrong with the patient, what could have caused it, and I glossed over the treatments. The dr asked me after we finished for the day if I had any questions about specific patients and my brain just would not allow it. There was so much that I had just seen that I was trying desperately to absorb when i wasn’t feverishly writing notes.

It was such a fast pace! I loved it, just wish my brain could keep up! I’m hoping this mentally sluggish feeling is just because I am new to all of this and most of it seems like a different language.

May I ask how did you find a doctor to shadow?

As for you not being able to process stuff, remember, that doctor had YEARS of education and experience. He/she has a well-trained-gone-to-med- school memory, too. I am sure, it’ll come to you, as well. Try to ask questions next time, because the doctor might think you are not very interested, and that’s not going to be good.

I found the dr because he was my Mom’s cardiologist for 10 months before she passed away so I ended up having him as connection. I reached out to him a few months after she passed and expressed my interest in pursuing medicine and he was very happy to help me out.