FNP-MD? What am I thinking...

I am an Family Nurse Practitioner that just graduated in May. I’m thinking of going to medical school also.

This is what I have always wanted, but circumstances such as my mom’s illness and needs to support my family had pushed me to pursue the Nursing track instead, because I was able to work while going to school full time.

Now that I am done with the FNP program I’m asking myself " why am I not pursuing to be a physician"?

I want more knowledge and I want the residency training. Residents learn so much and know so much more than nurses or NPs. That is why doctors know so much more because they learn so much more in medical school that what I learned in NP school. I feel I have so much to learn and will attain this knowledge if I go to med school.

I guess its fear that is preventing me from just going for what I really want. I’m afraid of the "what ifs"of the challenges ahead such as premed courses and making all A’s and then taking the MCATs and making a great score like above a 30. I am willing to try my best though. I always have.

I dont have any kids and I have a supportive husband. I do want to have kids in a few years. I’m 28y/o now.

Has any of you who is an RN or FNP have came this far in your career and are contemplating to go to Medical school? I don’t want to one day be 50 years old and regret that I never tried to get into medical school… because becoming a physician is what I have always wanted.

I have tried to settle my mind to be happy with the FNP certification I have attained but at the end of the day I really want to be a physician. I know I have to pay my dues to get there. I’m going through a battle in my mind with what I should do. Anyone in the same boat?

1 Like

I am currently an RN and have decided that I will be going to med school. As many of us have heard, the road to becoming an MD is challenging, but the feeling of fulfillment is what matters most.