FUD re: transition from school science to applied medicine

Hi, guys–happy Friday!

Ok–confession time.

So, I’m a good student. I’ve proven that across all my years of academia. I’m at home in the classroom, and when it comes to science–I’m truly interested in what I’m learning. Fascinated, actually.

But I have limited clinical exposure–to date, I’ve only shadowed. I will be picking up volunteer hours in a maternity ward at the semester break, and I will get another 50-75 hours of shadowing done before I apply in the spring. So between shadowing and volunteering, I will have a whopping 200-250 hours (approximately) of clinical exposure.

Having said that, I’m constantly wondering about my ability to make the transition from the classroom to the exam room. I’m good with people,so that’s not what I’m worried about. It’s the technical aspect. Feel this muscle, see that vein, look at that x-ray, listen to this lung… the “doing” part of it all.

Right now, when a doctor shows me a film and asks me if I see something on the lung (as he’s pointing it out), it looks like a cloudy blob and I wouldn’t have noticed it had he not been pointing at it. But I nod and smile and say, “oh, wow…yeah…” When I am clueless. Honestly.

I’m throwing this brutal honesty out there to hopefully hear that I’m not the only one who worries about this. If I hear crickets chirping, I will then go into panic mode. I just wish there was a way to fit some more hours in the day, and a way to have more hands-on exposure. I’m super envious of my peers on this forum who have nursing, PA, EMS, etc. exposure already. I can’t imagine anything worse than getting through pre-reqs, getting into med school, doing well in the classroom, and then finding out that you royally stink as a clinician.

Please…someone…tell me something reassuring. LOL

I’m laughing, but then again I’m not…you know?