hello from the new guy on the block

Hello everyone. Need some guidance. I am a math teacher/educator with 17 years experience and have decided I want to become a medical doctor. I have a bachelor in math, a masters in education, and a doctorate in education.

I realize that I need to take some pre-requisite science courses before I even start to prepare for the MCAT.

My desire is to go back to school full time. However ***** I recently found out that I cannot receive federal financial aid for this career change UNTIL I go to medical school.

What financial options are out there to help a person like me make a career change?

Thanks

Bryan

Poster Emergency! was a high school Spanish teacher before she embarked on completing her premedical prerequisites. She just graduated from medical school. As she points out in the following link, there is a little known rule allowing career changers to take out federal student loans for 12 months:

http://www.oldpremeds.org/fusionbb/showpost.php?po…

The link above has excellent advice. That’s precisely what I’m doing now. In my first post-bacc year I took advantage of the year’s worth of FA while doing coursework. In my second year I petitioned the biology department for permission to obtain a second bachelors degree, and was approved. Currently, I’m dangerously close to running out of undergrad money because I attended a private school for my bachelors. I’ll be taking the GRE this summer and applying for winter entry into a masters in biology program on my campus.