Help me with my list

Hello, everyone–

Yes, I know September MCAT, October application is a majorly unspeakable folly and sin, like believing that (Julius) Rosenberg is totally innocent (Ethel is). OK, OK. With this consider that you have already given me the “don’t apply this year” advice. Thanks!

My top choice is SUNY Downstate. I want to do primary care in cities for immigrants and low-income people.

My stats are OK, but I am not applying to many fancy schools because my parents’ D&B will lead to my not getting serious institutional aid. (Yes, this is really true…let’s leave that argument for another time.) I have an obscene debt load from an educational misadventure that indicates maximum conservatism this time around.

I also have a huge, huge quirk in my personal history, so huge that it cannot even be hinted at on the internet, way beyond the “special snowflake” cliches, that would suggest the more “alternative” option, to the tiny extent that exists in med school land. This quirk will not give me any sort of “edge,” but it’s there.

With these caveats, where else should I add? Here’s the existing list.

Downstate

Stony Brook

Buffalo

Upstate

Ivy alma mater

Hometown public school (no longer a resident)

Mt. Sinai

Einstein

Maryland

Howard

UVM (pricey!)

Temple

Where else do you think? I really appreciate the feedback. I am not limited to the East Coast.

Many thanks,

SC