Help please..can't decide if this is my calling

Ok, I’ve been a happy Electrical Engineer till now, lately I was questioning myself about the work I do and ultimately 30yrs down the road

when I decide to retire, how I would feel about it. The only one thing that came to my mind is I would have good savings, kids, a husband.

The next question I asked myself is, is that the purpose of my life? just live 50yrs and all you do is take care of yourself? I’ve always liked to help people. I thought about starting an orphanage a few years ago and realized that I neither have the money nor the ability to help all the kids.

Then I wanted to adopt a kid and provide support for his education and living, but that only takes care of one kid.The thought of becoming a doctor and helping those in suffering brings tears of happiness to my eyes.