Hi Guys! Need Advice!

Hello. Really glad I found this site. My name is Jen and I’m a teacher and considering medical school. Let me tell you a little about my background. I’m 29 and I was a biology pre-med major in undergrad. I graduated with a 3.6 cummulative GPA and 3.2 science GPA back in 2007. I am finishing up my grad studies in Science Education with a 3.6 GPA. This year I’m gearing up for MCAT. Do you think with my grades I have a strong chance of getting in to med school or need to take a refresher course? Any advice given is welcome.

Jen - I find that when I look at your post, I wonder what else you have to share. Grades by themselves are not the qualifier that get you in to medical school. I don’t feel your grades would be a barrier, and I don’t see a need for you to take “a refresher” if the purpose is to get some more A’s. But do you ned a refresher becausre you finished your bachelors in 2007, so perhaps took basic Bio and inorganic chem in 2004 so it is 8 yrs old, and organic chem 7 years old…do you need a “refresher” in the basic sciences for MCAT? Maybe. I’d think about what your most effective strategy for MCAT prep is. If you have been taking higher level classes and working in the science field, you may do fine with a review of topics on your own, and possibly an MCAT prep course. Ideally, you want to take it ONCE and do excellently.

BUT, also, have you done physician shadowing. What volunteer activities are you involved in? Do you have any clinically related experience? Why do you want to be a doctor? Those are the parts of your application that may help paint a complete picture of you that med schools will be looking at.

Best of luck on your journey!!

Kate