How long did you think about it?

I grew up knowing I was going to med school since the age of 12 to 19. Then life happened and I ended up going to pharmacy school (faster degree than MD).

After graduation I worked for a couple of years before the itch started. Then in 2008 I started looking into med school. Then stopped. Then in 2010 I started studying for MCAT. Then stopped. Then again in 2011. Then stopped. I can’t get it out of my mind, but with 3 kids, debt etc I know it will be very hard. Now again, I am thinking about it.

If I am going to I want to do it now before the MCAT changes next year. But I am scheduled to start on my MBA (for a career in pharmacy management that is NOT my passion) next week.

How long did you contemplate it before really going all in?

I am 35 now so I hate to wait another 10 years and still have the itch. Or will it ever go away?

I repeated a pattern of thinking about it and putting it aside for about 20 yrs before I got serious around age 39. It took another 2 yrs to align the financial ducks, then another 2.5 to get the pre-reqs while still working. Finally entered med school at age 43. I’m 54, in my 5th year of practice/teaching and enjoying every minute. If you’re still thinking about it now, it probably won’t go away.

I always wanted to go but life happened too. Then I went to grad school in 2009 and it was in the back of my head then. In 2011 when I graduated with my masters I thought about it but was nervous because of all of the time I spent studying while in grad school and working full time. I had wrist surgery in 2012 that was complicated in recovery. My anatomy high school students always tour LSU health sciences center and the bug always hits me harder while I’m there . In 2013 in June I figured now or never and took the mcat in September. I was accepted to LSU Nola in December .

I’d advise you to not pursue another graduate degree (the MBA), if you don’t really want it, adding to your debt perhaps to do so.