How old is too old?

I’m 35 years old, have three boys (8, 5, and 3) with a baby girl on the way (due to arrive this summer). I have a B.S. in Chemical Engineering and a M.A. in counseling. Pursuing medicine as a career has been a recurring dream that I can’t seem to put to rest. How crazy am I to consider this path so late in life?

I’m 33, 34 in May, and I have begun the process to get my research into medical school programs and will be setting up classes this fall for my pre-reqs. So, nope I don;t think you are to old. At least you have a jump on me, I don’t have a BS yet, I will have an AA in Criminal Justice later this year though.

I am 32 years old, and JUST starting school. With a 2 year old and 10 month old twins. We will be finishing at the same time. Ha! This is OLD premeds! There are a ton of us… Welcome!

You’re not too old! I am a 33-year-old lawyer-turned-SAHM to three kids (6, 4, 2) and I started prereqs this semester. If I am accepted the first time I apply, I will graduate when I’m 40! I’ll be 40 in 7 years whether I go to med school or not, so why not!

I hope you’re seated.

I’m 53, and in 2nd year medical school. I’m a former IT person, having been a programmer, analyst and sales account manager.

Getting the ride of my life, I must admit.

Cheers!

44 here

I’m 46 right now and was 42 when I started and I also have two kids. Granted, I failed first year due to various circumstances but successfully repeated, passed boards, and am on the downhill side of 3rd year right now.

The better question is—what do YOU think and what is YOUR family willing to do? My wife is super-supportive and encouraging. She’s basically done the single Mom thing knowing that this was an investment for our family. It’s wound up pulling us closer together in our relationship…

Not too Old! I’m going on 51, taking prereq’s to go into PA program. 10 Years ago, I would have jumped on MD/DO. Like Presse, I’m coming out of the IT world, also.