I have an interesting opportunity!

Hey all, I haven’t been around here in a while- really really busy with degree work- but I’ve had an interesting opportunity come up and I’d like to know what you all think about it.

I’m in a graduate program at a major medical school working on an MS in Biomedical Science. A few days ago, an e-mail went out that the school will be starting a post-bacc program this fall, and is looking for graduate students to TA the courses. I know I’m eminently qualified to be one. I have a BS in bio, I’m carrying a strong graduate GPA, and the administration likes me. I’ve also been a teacher on the high school level and was a biology TA when I was an undergraduate. To be honest, I’m not sure how I could be more qualified. My question is this: is this experience something that could somehow be helpful when I apply to medical school myself?

My gut says yes, of course. Realistically, I’m not sure. The strategic plan is that I won’t actually be applying to medical for another 5-7 years. My fiancee (who many of you met at last summer’s convention) is starting a Pharm-D program in the Fall, and I won’t have the means to start on the path to medical school until she’s finished with her program, or her PGY-1/2 if she opts to do a residency (I think the likelihood is that she probably does). Moreover, I expect to apply exclusively to DO programs, which means I won’t be applying at the school I’m currently at (only has an MD program). So it’s not as if I can drop a “remember me?” when I apply to medical school, since I won’t be applying to Jefferson, and a significant enough amount of time will pass that I wouldn’t feel comfortable going back for letters of recommendation. The only benefit for medical school I expect to gain is to be able to put this experience on my application and/or talk about it in an interview.