I need you, OPM oracles!

Hello,

I am starting to evaluate the old premed student route, and I would like to consult everyone.

Here is my background:

I have always wanted to be a doctor since I was a little kid and excelled in science courses up until high school. I planned my life around becoming a doctor and meticulous planned everything even in high school.

I entered undergrad. (Charlottesville) as a premed student, but after a traumatic event that happened to me in my first year in college, I failed academically. I did terribly in my courses for 3 years and ended up majoring in humanities.

I even got an F in organic chemistry. I was suffering from PTSD and depression, and sometimes I couldn’t even go to class. Psychotherapy did nothing for me, and I helped myself out of severe depression by studying philosophy and religion at school. Humanities helped me to get better. I did pretty well in my humanities major (3.5).

My undergrad. GPA was horrible: 2.86

After I graduated from college, I stayed in school to take more classes because I didn’t know what I wanted to do or could do. I was lost. I knew pre-med was not possible for me at the time. I knew a friend who worked in cancer research, and he said I should explore doing research. I took chemistry again and got A’s. I got to know a TA who recommended me to a research lab. I worked there as a research assistant. The professor really liked me and encouraged me to apply to a science PhD program. I figured getting a degree was better than nothing so I did it even though I didn’t have my heart in it.

I took Bio I and Orgo I and got B’s (not great, I wasn’t as focused). I applied to the program and got in so I withdrew from my second semester science courses in Bio II and Orgo II as I was commuting more than an hour from school at the time.

I took upper level science courses in biochem, cell bio, genetics…etc. and received A’s and B’s. I left the PhD program early with a master in Science degree.