I'm excited, I'm confused, I'm nervous, I'm ...

This is a wonderful forum. I think after I let my thoughts come out here, I can either feel more confused, more direction and clarity, power that I can do it.

My question has probably been answered a 1000 times but I couldn’t find a thread for it. I graduted with a degree in engineering in 2002. So, my sciences and everything is 8 or more years old, but I have the degree.

first, Do I have to retake the science courses to apply to medical school?

Secondly, how does my experience working as an engineer for the last 8 years help me?

Third, when I have voluteered, I have always done that abroad. How does that experience help me.

4th. Back in 1999, I worked as a CNA before focusing on college fulltime, does that help me? In what way?

5th. When should I start applying, assuming that my undergraduate course work is accpeted though its a little old?

Finally, I plan to take mcat in may of 11.

Now you know why I’m confused as hell.

oh, one more piece of old, but important info. I’m 37 (sigh), but rather bee 97 than dead.

Welcome to Old Premeds!! It has been very helpful to me in my journey so far. I think I can give you some starting information at least.

Looks like a lot of questions!

Let’s see :

It depends.Perhaps not. Some schools have rules regarding how recent your core science courses have to be. Checking out the medical school guide from AMCAS and AACOMAS will help you narrow down a lot of info about schools you might be interested in. I do think it may be worthwhile to take some again. The question is how much you remember for MCAT’s. You might get an MCAT review book, or look for some at the local library, such as ExamKrackers, and see how it looks. Things change so fast in biology it might be worth redoing that.

Secondly, how does my experience working as an engineer for the last 8 years help me?