In need of some pre med advice for a 27 yr old

Hello! Newbie here. I have found myself on this site every day during lunch time, reading many inspiring posts in the last month or so. I want to share my story and get advice from you folks.

I’m going way back and I appreciate your time!

When I was in middle school, I remember telling my friends I wanted to be a Cardiologist, I was such a smart kid. As I went into HS, my mother was a single parent and so I had to work, every day after school. In spite of this, I still managed to do well overall. I was accepted in the Bioengineering program, full ride and all (low income + good grades). But my mother did not believe in college, or leaving the nest, so i stayed. I can’t say I regret staying because I had to help her, life happens.

I wanted to help my family, and I knew the only way to get a good job was through a degree. So, I decided to go to JCC the following year, I started taking liberal arts courses and so I got my BA, GPA 3.2. I didn’t try much, because I had to work two jobs at the time, I raced through it and finished in three years. I then went to get my MA in Public Policy, GPA 3.5, finished in 1.5 years.

Two years later, I am a Program Director at a JCC, and I hate it! I think I took the easy way out, and now I am saddened that I could not follow my childhood dreams, and every time I see a doctor, I think to myself, “this is what I was meant to do, this is where my heart belongs,” I don’t regret my choices though.