Introduction - A vet about to leave the service!

Hello everyone! I am a 24 year old veteran of the United States Army, and I am about to end my service with nearly 7 years in the Army. I have held a leadership position for most of my time in, been deployed, etc, etc. I am a Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP…computer network stuff), and have worked hard the entire enlistment to excel in my field. Recently, my wife and I welcomed our two new daughters (twin girls!), and I had some sort of epiphany, that I wanted to work with children in a medical capacity. I realize this will likely change, but I’ve always enjoyed helping people. I’m well known for stopping at nearly every disabled vehicle on the side of the road to assist…something I partially blame the military for.

I have always been interested in medicine, but being in the military in my current career, has made it difficult to get into the medical field- at least without re-enlisting. Anyways…

So now I stand, with about 8 months left in the Army. I do have some college, but most of it is online, and most likely non-transferable. I do have my entire GI Bill available to put towards my undergrad education, which is great. I have no doubt I can manage to get a decent to high GPA once starting my undergrad in a few months, but I’m mostly concerned about the juggling act of being the primary provider at home and a student. The only break I will receive is when my wife completes her R.N schooling in two years, so that I can cut my hours back to focus on school.

In the next few months before I get out, I am taking an Introduction to College Algebra class, and volunteering at a children’s hospital. Math has never been my best subject, but as of late I’ve done a lot of studying on my own and have picked it up much better than I did in school. I want to be well-prepared going into the more difficult classes required as pre-reqs to medical school.