Introduction after 6+ years of anonymity

Hello OPM!

I feel a little strange to be finally introducing myself after so many years of faithfully stalking this site. Your stories have been extremely inspiring over the years and made me feel like I had the support of a like-minded community, even though I was an anonymous member. Like many members here, I have always wanted to be a physician. Yet, somehow I always managed to move in another direction with my career. I think part of the reason was a lack of self-confidence, the other part was a fear of the long-term commitment. I worried about being able to start a family, earn a good income within a reasonable timeframe, and anything else that could convince me that there were far better (or at least just as valuable) things I could do with my life and obtain the same level of personal happiness.

I graduated from an Ivy League university 10 years ago with a BA in Psychology. I began post-bacc pre-med studies 5 years ago, but stopped 2 courses short of completion after getting married, moving to another state, and losing my father all in a 5 week period. I had been preparing to apply to MD/DO-MBA programs, so after a year I decided to go ahead and complete an MBA, allowing myself time to reflect (again) on whether medical school was the right move. I became a mom to a wonderful little boy in the process, obtained an MBA in Healthcare Management from a top 10 business school, secured a great job and continued to build on my now ~9 years of healthcare experience. All should be well in my world, right? Wrong! All throughout my studies, I was constantly thinking about going to medical school, about fulfilling my dream of becoming a physician, and I was again intrigued by the idea of applying business knowledge to the practice of medicine. Well this pretty much told me that I needed to carry my original plan to completion, become an MD/DO-MBA and do what I feel drawn to do, and that is treat patients.