Introduction and Questions (mainly post-bac related)

Meet the newest of your crazed brethren! I’m an almost 32 year-old male, single and no kids, beginning to explore the insane idea of switching careers and dedicating at least the next decade or so of my life to the pursuit of a medical degree. I’ve been reading the posts on the board and find this place to be an invaluable resource. Thanks for your dedication to answering others’ questions, and congrats to all of those who have taken the journey and are succeeding; you’re an inspiration to the rest of us who are still on the fence!

I have a bachelors (2000) and masters (2002) in materials science and engineering from Brown. The dream entering college, however, was to become a doctor. I really enjoyed biology in high school. Before my senior year, the curriculum expanded to include an elective in anatomy and physiology. Naturally, I took this class, which only seemed to enhance my interest in pursuing medicine. Through the course of thinking about what I might choose as a major in college, I learned about the field of biomedical engineering (BME). This seemed like a perfect fit for my strong interest in biology/medicine and math, as well as a natural way to complete the pre-med requirements, since most of them would likely fall within the BME curriculum. So, with the master plan in place, I applied to colleges with BME programs.

I chose Brown, but to my surprise when I arrived on campus, I learned Brown was beginning to phase out its BME program. (It’s become such a hot field that it has since been revived.) Also, it turned out that it wasn’t as established a program as I had imagined. I still had the opportunity to pursue a BME degree, but given the circumstances, it didn’t seem like a good idea to me to take that path…