Just need advice. I am newish.

Hello All,

I have a question. Should I put off applying this year?

Here is my situation: I am an Elementary School Music Teacher 10+ years with a 3 and 6 y.o. keeping me on my toes. I have been diligently taking pre-reqs while working my butt off at work.(I hold a few key positions on staff at my school.) I serve in a high minority, low-income school while maintaining a high teaching standard, a percussion group, a choir, tutoring, and chess club (all after hours). I have received various awards of service and citizenship. I also volunteer on the UH campus for my chem professor 2 hr/wk and 6+ hr/wk in the summer.

I think my postbac sGPA is 3.5. I am in the process of filling out the Texas and AMCAS med school apps. I have taken Bio I/II with labs, Chem I/II with labs, Physics I/II with labs, Orgo I/II lab with I. This semester I am am taking Genetics (no labs available in my time slots) and Orgo Lab II. I plan on terminating my employment at the end of the school year and taking the MCAT in August. I also plan on volunteering at the local hospitals in my area about 5 hr/week.

In the Fall I am taking Statistics, Biochem, Physio, Microbio, and labs since I will no longer be working.

I have been trying to get a meeting with an adviser, but they are packed and my appointment times are limited.

Can/ Should I apply this year?

I know it is going to be a late application, but will the lacking of one or two classes (biochem and stat) hurt my application in TX? ( I live in Houston). Let me know what ya’ll think, because I need/want the feedback.

Thanks in advance!

Renee -

I’ll give you two things to think about. 1 is that a late application definately decreases your chances. Bear in mind that if you take the MCAT in August, your application won’t be reviewed until complete (MCAT score received) which will be September, or possibly even October.