Just wanted to introduce myself.

Hello everyone my name is Brent Adams, I am 26 years old. I have been lurking on these forums the last couple of weeks. Whilst absorbing the collective insight contained therein I realized that many of my fears have often been shared in terms of time investment, money, and the all-consuming fear of rejection. My background is in mental health which culminated in a MS in counseling just six months ago. As I began working in my chosen field I was taken back to my old dream of being a psychiatrist and taking steps to understand the neurology of mental illness and drug interactions with my clients. So in March I began studying for the MCATS and I realized that I might be in over my head. Two months later despite numerous guides and tests I feel no more prepared for the chemistry section than I was before (though I have increased my scores in both the verbal and biology sections) . As I read these posts I noticed that many are taking prerequisites at the undergrad level which makes me panic for my chances on this test. So that said, I wonder if anyone on the forums has overcome poor scores to make it in through interviewing or life experience. In truth I have always been an exceptional student in the humanities and basic sciences but I lack classes in organic chemistry, anatomy, and other classes considered ideal for med school. My undergrad GPA was 3.82 and my Grad GPA was 3.9. I would just like an appraisal of my chances considering my certainty that I will underperform on the MCATS in late MAY. If it becomes apparent that prerequisites and additional years are needed to just get admission into a medical school I might have to re-analyze my decision to embark upon this path. As it is I will push as far as I can to get to my goal and pursue psychiatry as a profession. Thank you for reading my rant and I pray that some of you fine ladies and gentlemen may offer me some advice.