Lost Non-Traditional App. HELP!!

I’ll keep my introduction short, but I need help.

I am 28, a tenured teacher in PA and have been teaching Mathematics and Biology in high school for the last five years.

I graduated my undergrad in 2008 with a major in molecular biology and mathematics but with a GPA of 3.0 due to severe health problems.

I graduated grad school in 2012 with a major in Mathematics Education with a gpa of 3.8.

Over the years of teaching, I realized how much I enjoy teaching and medicine, and the ultimate dream, to teach in medical school.

I took the MCAT after a few months of studying and scored a 29, this was my first time ever taking it.

I applied to a few local medical schools, and didn’t even get an interview.

I don’t know how to circumvent getting letters of rec from science professors, or if I should get another masters and then apply. Either way, I found this forum and thought maybe other non-trad applicants can give me guidance because I feel stuck with this aspiration with no map in front to reach my destination.

Thanks for reading my sob story!!!

Hi! Welcome!! First off, I don’t think another masters is the answer! Look at the new requirements and see if you need any courses.

Your 3.0 gpa may have been just below 3.0 for science gpa or because AMCAS application service does not consider any grade replacement. They do their own calculation of gpa. Many schools use gpa as a screening tool and generally do not review applications if they fall below 3.0

Having said that, any post-baccalaureate classes you might take would have their OWN gpa calculation, and this is a good way to demonstrate your current academic ability. THe graduate gpa is not usually considered as med schools tend to feel that many masters programs have some grade inflation.