Medical School Again or Residence

Hello. I graduated medical school 3 years ago in Russia, I don’t know what to do. Start to study again here in the U.S. and apply to a medical school, or take USMLE exams, and try to find a residence. I am interesting in cardiosurgery or OB GYN.I know it is very hard to find a residence here if you a foreign doctor. And it will take me about 2 years to pass USMLE exams. When my diploma will be 5 years old. Please tell me what do you think I should do. Do I have any chances to find a good residence in the U.S. with my Russian diploma? Thanks.

You need to attain ECFMG certification:

http://www.ecfmg.org/certification/index.html

You’ll probably get better help about ECFMG and securing a US residency from the ValueMD website:

http://www.valuemd.com

In addition to meeting the ECFMG requirements, many programs will want to see recent hands-on patient experience, preferably in the specialty to which you are applying. This is different than shadowing; you will need to be doing histories, supervised physicals, charting/scribing, taking vitals, etc. The length of time varies by program, from a few weeks to a year or more before you can apply.

Time is of the essence. The sooner you can get through all the requirements and do well on step exams, the better your chances are of securing a position. Cast a broad net and consider all your options. If you are set on cardiothoracic surgery by all means go for it, but understand it is a highly competitive field even for US grads. Even if you were to land a general surgery residency, it’s no guarantee that after 5 years of grueling work you could get into a cardiothoracic fellowship. OB/GYN or other primary care specialties are less competitive and more receptive to FMGs. Be open to the idea of going to a small community program in either a rural or medically underserved urban area.

Good luck and keep us posted.

Hi Everyone,