Mentor - Mentee OlPreMed

I am not sure if this is appropriate to ask. Could we set up some sort of Mentor / Mentee program?

Obviously some of you, who are in med school, know a ton of stuff. For instance, I am presently working on my essay (16 months in advance) and have no idea how to best tackle it. An essay is quite personal and I wouldn’t see the point in posting it on the forum to get opinions. I would seriously benefit from “closer” contacts with a non trad who successfully made it.

I could see this relationship extend to residency while the Mentee is in school etc…

Or perhaps there is somewhere on this forum where this is done?

Let me know.

I think this is a great idea. I am about to start my post-bacc next fall. And, honestly, the uncertainty and all the things I have never done before scare the hell out of me. I would be very interested in a program like this.

If it is done, I would like to be mentored and would be fully willing to mentor others if (when!) I make it to ‘the other side.’

What a great idea! I will be applying next spring and would love to have someone who has “been there/done that” in my corner.

Ok so, perhaps we could have a sticky or something on this post where mentees would post their names, locations and status. Mentors could do the same or directly contact mentees that they’d like to mentor.

Let’s see if a webmaster picks up the thread.

I certainly need to be mentored, geez this is confusing.