Midwife or OB?

Hi all,

Really glad to find this community, especially since I am having a dilemma about where to go next in my career and could use some advice! I have seen a few midwives on here and am especially interested in hearing from those who have experience with midwifery.

Some background on me: I’m 29, have a B.S. in Biology, a M.A. in Humanities and Social Thought from NYU, and am finishing a B.S.N to become an RN within the next few months. Roundabout way of getting to Med School? Yes! My cumulative GPA is 3.9 and I haven’t taken the MCAT yet.

My passion has always been women’s health, and I went into nursing with the intention of becoming a Nurse Midwife. I worked as an assistant to a Nurse Midwife and have a deep commitment to normal and empowering birth. For those who don’t know, a Nurse Midwife is a mid-level provider (nurse practitioner) who provides evidence based primary care throughout a woman’s reproductive years. Nurse midwives generally attend low-risk pregnancies.