My introduction and a question

Dear friends,

I have been reading the posts on this website for the past three months and have found it very helpful and encouraging and I just joined as a member. So I would like to introduce myself and then ask a question. Please bear with me:

I am 45 years old with a PhD degree in Engineering and have been working in the industry as well as academia in my field for the past 20 years. Now that my daughter is grown up and getting ready to go to college, I have decided to go back to my earlier passion in life, which is becoming a doctor (my wife is also trying the same with a Psychology degree in her background). I got my bachelor degree in 1990, Master degree in 1998 (both outside the US) and my PhD in 2006 (in the US). so I have decided to re-take all the prerequisites, even general ones. I am currently taking my first set of prerequisites.

I have a question for more experienced members.

According to my study plan around May or June of 2011, I will be quite ready for taking MCAT (hopefully aiming for a high score). By that time the only courses left out of my prerequisites would be Organic Chem I&II and Biology III (required by some medical schools). I am also planning to take a few extra science courses between the time of application and the time of starting the Med school (if I am accepted of course!). If everything goes according to the plan and I can get a good MCAT score I will apply at the beginning of the application period in Jun next year (for Fall2012). Considering the difficulties in the addmission of older applicants, my other option is to wait until I have taken Organic Chem and other recommended courses and apply in May 2012 (for fall 2013) with a fuller hand (more science courses). In this case I will lose one year but I might (not sure) increase my chance. I am also doing volunteer work at a hospital and planning to continute this for the next 2 years.