New Here...Need Advice

Hi all,

My name is Elisa and I am 28, married, no kids. I have an odd story and my (psych major) advisor doesn’t really advise for pre-med, so I’m in need of guidance!

I graduated from high school in 1999, and went straight to a community college. I was a varsity athlete, but dropped sports after one semester due to an injury that made it impossible to play again. I took an EMT course, which I loved, and finished 4th in my class. However, as I had my heart set on an athletic scholarship, I became apathetic and my grades bombed. I failed to withdraw and have a semester of Fs. I then went to a 2-year full-time UNPAID internship in youth ministry. I did volunteer and summer work as an EMT. Upon completion of the internship, I moved to another state and worked full-time in business.

I realized one day, while relaxing at home, that having my thumb in Gray’s Anatomy and following surgery on Discovery Health was not a past time. It was who I am. I decided to go back to school and become a doctor…at the same time I became engaged!

So I moved back to my hometown, enrolled in college (the same one I went to before), and got married. I finished my AA in Behavioral & Social Sciences in 2008, which permenant membership in the academic honor society noted on my transcript. To get that notiation, I not only had to have a high GPA, but lots of community service. I believe I averaged 975+ hours each semester (including my paid part-time job at a non-profit).