New member of old-premeds needing help!

Hello everyone,

I am new to old pre-meds although I am not exactly old but will be graduating with my BSN in nursing next May. After graduation, I hope to begin pursuing pre-med requisites and apply to med school eventually. I am looking for help and suggestions as to how to do this. Many have suggested that I take my nursing boards and start working at least part-time while taking my classes towards med school. If anyone was ever in the same boat please help! Especially if you were nursing and switched to pre-med.

Thanks!

If you search the forums you will find tons of information from both nursing and non-nursing professionals pursuing their premed classes.

Hi - One of the people in my post-bacc program had just graduated with her BSN and went straight into a 1-year post-bacc premed program to take the med prerequisites in a condensed format. I think she took calculus in the summer when the rest of us were doing Chem I and II, since she had taken that recently.

She actually did NOT work right away, but did in the “glide year”. If you did the courses informally and part-time, you could also work. I’d figure on 3 months of full-time orientation at any nursing job for a new grad (so one semester), which would let you take courses part-time. If you want to do the courses in one year, you might work part-time after orientation and do the courses full-time.

(hope that made sense - just coming off night shift).

I do think that some hospital time as a nurse would be helpful exposure, but by no means essential.

Kate

Kate (and to whoever else that can help!),